• translation
    FrançaisEnglish

3 best cities to visit in Iceland for their attractions

3 best cities to visit in Iceland for their attractions

IcelandSome cities of Ice and Fire are steps choice not to be missed during a stay in Iceland for their certain attractions. Like the Icelandic capital Reykjavik which is the largest city in the Scandinavian country in which there is a number of tourist attractions. While other towns are mostly small, they have provided remarkable sites of interest that are worth a visit as the town of Vik and Húsavík among others.

Reykjavik : the city as almost obligatory step
The Icelandic capital, Reykjavik, is one of the best destinations in the country of Ice and Fire. Indeed, it is in most cases the starting point of most trips to visit Iceland. Moreover, it was from this city that performs the famous tourist circuit of the Golden Circle, which highlights the natural and cultural as exceptional in its path (Thingvellir National Park, Geysir geothermal area, waterfall Gullfoss). But Reykjavik also has attractions that Iceland's reputation, as his works of street art or quaint colorful houses. It also houses several museums worth visiting, including the National Museum of Iceland, le musée d'art de Reykjavik, le Vikings Maritime Museum, or most unusual, Icelandic museum phallologique.

The town of Vik and remarkable natural interest sites
Located in the south of Iceland, Vik fait partie des villes incontournables qu'il faut absolument visiter. Especially since it is only about two hours drive from Reykjavík. Although it is not particularly interesting in itself, it is primarily a few sites of outstanding natural interest that are in surroundings that attract. Indeed, This small coastal town is renowned for its exceptional and huge black sand beach, Reynisfjara Beach. It is the same for the impressive basalt columns that are at the end of this range. On the other hand, do not miss the small peninsula Dyrhólaey, the southernmost point of Iceland, which is easily accessible from Vik. Moreover, stunning views of Reynisfjara Beach from the top of the cliffs is offered.

Go through the port city Husavik whale watching
Húsavík is a small Icelandic port city located in the northeast of the island region. This is the place to focus in Iceland for observing sea whales. Indeed, through Húsavík allows boat trips to observe several species of cetaceans, including humpback whales, blue whales, Minke whales, and many dolphins, and sometimes orcas. In order to have more chance to admire, it is therefore necessary to plan the stay in Húsavík between April and October. This is the best time for whale watching in this small port town. In addition, the Husavik Whale Museum is a museum dedicated to his cetaceans and their stories related to Iceland for many years. It certainly deserves a visit during a stay in the Icelandic port town.

Post Discussion

Be the first to comment "3 essential towns to visit Iceland for their attractions”

• translation
    FrançaisEnglish

3 villes incontournables à visiter en Islande pour leurs attractions

3 villes incontournables à visiter en Islande pour leurs attractions

IslandeCertaines villes du pays de Glace et de Feu sont des étapes de choix à ne pas manquer lors d’un séjour sur le territoire islandais pour leurs attraits certains. À l’instar de la capitale islandaise Reykjavík qui est la plus grande ville de ce pays scandinave dans laquelle se trouve un bon nombre d’attractions touristiques. Bien que les autres villes soient majoritairement petites, elles possèdent pour autant des sites d’intérêts remarquables qui méritent un détour comme la ville de Vík ainsi que Húsavík entre autres.

Reykjavík : la ville quasi obligatoire comme étape
La capitale islandaise, Reykjavík, est l’une des destinations incontournables du pays de Glace et de Feu. En effet, elle est dans la grande majorité des cas le point de départ de la plupart des excursions pour visiter l’Islande. D’ailleurs, c’est à partir de cette ville que s’effectue le célèbre circuit touristique du Cercle d’Or qui met en avant des sites naturels et aussi culturels d’exception sur son parcours (le parc national de Þingvellir, la région géothermique de Geysir, la chute d’eau Gullfoss). Mais Reykjavík possède également des attractions qui font la réputation de l’Islande, comme ses oeuvres de street art ou ses pittoresques maisons multicolores. Elle abrite également plusieurs musées qui méritent une visite, notamment le musée national d’Islande, le musée d’art de Reykjavík, le Vikin Maritime Museum, ou plus insolite, le musée phallologique islandais.

La ville de Vík et ses remarquables sites d’intérêts naturels
Située au sud de l’Islande, Vík fait partie des villes incontournables qu’il faut absolument visiter. D’autant plus qu’elle se trouve seulement à environ deux heures de route de Reykjavík. Bien qu’elle n’est pas particulièrement intéressante en soi, ce sont surtout quelques sites d’intérêts naturels remarquables qui se trouvent dans ses environs qui attirent. En effet, cette petite ville côtière est réputée pour son exceptionnelle et immense plage de sable noire, Reynisfjara Beach. Il en est de même pour les impressionnants orgues basaltiques qui se trouvent à l’extrémité de cette plage. D’autre part, il ne faut pas non plus manquer la petite péninsule Dyrhólaey, le point le plus méridional de l’Islande qui est facilement accessible à partir de Vík. D’ailleurs, une vue imprenable sur Reynisfjara Beach du haut de ses falaises est offerte.

Passer par la ville portuaire Húsavík pour observer les baleines
Húsavík est une petite ville portuaire islandaise qui se trouve dans la région nord-est de l’île. C’est l’endroit à privilégier en Islande pour l’observation de baleines en mer. En effet, passer par Húsavík permet d’effectuer des excursions en bateau afin d’observer plusieurs espèces de cétacés, notamment des baleines à bosse, des baleines bleues, des baleines de Minke, et en grand nombre des dauphins, ainsi que des orques parfois. Afin d’avoir davantage de chance de les admirer, il est par conséquent nécessaire de planifier le séjour à Húsavík entre le mois d’avril et le mois d’octobre. C’est la meilleure période pour l’observation de baleine dans cette petite ville portuaire. En outre, le Husavik Whale Museum est un musée consacré à ses cétacés ainsi qu’à leurs histoires liées à l’Islande depuis bien des années. Il mérite sans doute une visite lors d’un passage dans cette ville portuaire islandaise.

Discussion de l'article

Sois le premier à laisser un commentaire ! “3 villes incontournables à visiter en Islande pour leurs attractions”